This site is in archival mode. A replacement is being developed. In the meantime, please use the PBW2 Forums for community discussions. The replacement software for this site will use a unified account system with PBW2, and any newly created threads will carry over.
Welcome to Spaceempires.net
Login or Register

Search
Modules
· Content
· Downloads
· Forums
· Game Info
· Image Gallery
· Links
· Shipyards
· Topics
· Staff

User Info
· Welcome, Anonymous
Membership:
· New: Astorre
· New Today: 0
· New Yesterday: 0
· Overall: 3155

People Online:
· Visitors: 138
· Members: 0
· Total: 138

  

Spaceempires.net :: FrEee features wishlist :: View topic
Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in


FrEee features wishlist
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> FrEee
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Skyburn
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 12, 2008

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say "Unity" what do you mean? I'm guessing it's not the Ubuntu UI, which is what I think of when you say Unity.

Back to top
Kana
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 15, 2005

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unity

http://unity3d.com/


FSL Kana/CNO F.W.S.N/FNS Brawler (PBC IV)


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, that one.

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
jonilaht
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 03, 2010

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



At first I thought something like this, the ability repeat a certain projects, but then I started to think it more...

I think the whole SE IV UI needs a complete rewamp.

Like Reordering queues is horrible, why not just allow user to "grab" an item and place it straight away.

And ship movement, why press M, or click move icon and then click destination, how about just rightclicking to destination?

And some menus could be hovering near the mousepointer, like unload/load cargo and such.

Just my 2 cents...


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had a thought on the whole Spaceport issue I mentioned earlier, what about this:
* Spaceports can transfer a limited amount (some number of kT per turn) of certain types of 'cargo' (say population and troops) intra-system between planets that have spaceports.
* Starports are required for every new system to transfer resources to the empire pool, but also act as Spaceports, only they work inter-system as well, not only allowing the transfer of cargo between planets in the same system, but also allowing transport of said cargo between neighbouring systems, provided both systems have a planet with a Starport.

If an additional bonus is needed, I suspect both facilities could generate a certain (small) number of supplies, and maybe have a small repair ability too.

A couple of points I do wonder about:
* Should Starports be limited to one per system?
* With a Starport, do we have two separate transfer limits, one for intra-system and one for inter-system, or do they have a single, universal pool?

jonilaht wrote:
Like Reordering queues is horrible, why not just allow user to "grab" an item and place it straight away.
The UI has been redone, check out the latest offering in the 'FrEee Releases' thread.

Back to top
jonilaht
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 03, 2010

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MattII wrote:
The UI has been redone, check out the latest offering in the 'FrEee Releases' thread.


Yeah, I tried it, but I fear the UI is not redone "enough".

BUT I understand it's is very very very early alpha, so I'm not going to judge it. Nothing like that, the progress has been quite fast, and SE IV is still some of my favorite games.

I really hope this projects will be eventually "completed". All I really want, is SE IV with diplomacy which makes sense, more streamlined and modernized UI with modern resolutions support and more "game feel" to it. Like in MOO2 style.

Edit: Forgot about "subturns". Those could be more clear, like in SE IV when you set your Resource converter to convert say 1000 organics to 600 minerals and set it to repeat orders, it doesn't convert just 1000 organics, it converts 1000x11(?) which can be pain to calculate to convert right.

I wish you all the very best with this project!


Back to top
letsdance
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 03, 2012

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

quoting the ideas that i like:
MattII wrote:
Early Changes (enhance the game while requiring minimal coding)
* To-hit probabilities for individual components are based on their size, not their structural strength.
* Planetary space-yards have separate construction queues to planets themselves (eg, a planetary space-yard can't build a facility, nor a planet a LARGE ship).
* Provide not just a 'reload rate' stat, but also a 'shots per turn' and 'shots per combat' stat for weapons.
* An ability that allows components to subtract movement.
* Allow the option of having some technologies exclusive to others.

* each SY/repair bay having a maximum number of Kt it can repair, rather than just a number of components.
* hex-based systems.
* Sensors have limited ranges.
* A movement system revamp so that a ship has a vaguely circular movement as opposed to a square one. (not needed if systems are hex-based)


ekolis wrote:
A customizable set of Quick Start settings would be cool, so you could start a game using your preferred settings instantly!


in my mod i had wished for moddable combat area size. i wanted the combat area to be smaller, so ships get to each other more quickly, and cannot run that far. that would be nice and shouldn't be too hard.

creating anything out of nothing sounds boring to me.

the one cool feature that MOO2 had, and that is lacking in SE4 is leaders/ship officers. i know, that's a big leap from standard SE4, but... well, it's the one thing i'm really missing.


Back to top
Raruto
Space Emperor


Joined: Sep 24, 2008

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

planetary engines

dockable ships by larger massive mobile moon base carriers


Back to top
dumbluck
Space Emperor


Joined: Sep 22, 2007

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

basing to hit probablilities on size instead of structural strength would break the CarrierBattles mod, IIRC.

dumbluck
CEO, Fortuitous Investments, Inc.
Author: The Belanai Story


Back to top
SuicideJunkie
Leaky Guru


Joined: May 28, 2005
Location: Canada!

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're going to fix the component hit chances, don't half-ass it; go for a cross section attribute independent of everything else.

Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And that means what exactly?

Back to top
Raruto
Space Emperor


Joined: Sep 24, 2008

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could be "optional" in starting settings Razz

Back to top
dumbluck
Space Emperor


Joined: Sep 22, 2007

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"independant cross section attribute" I assume means that there is a seperate setting on each component in components.txt that specifically indicates that component's chance to get hit...

dumbluck
CEO, Fortuitous Investments, Inc.
Author: The Belanai Story


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Meh, too complicated IMO since to be at all realistic such a system would also have to take account of the placement of the component in the hull, and the pointing of the ship when it got hit.

Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't have to be realistic - it just has to be interesting. You could make a leaky armor system where internal components' chance to be hit depends on their size, but armor components' chance to be hit depends on their hitpoints, or something Smile

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Raruto
Space Emperor


Joined: Sep 24, 2008

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just want my huge moon/dwarfplanet mobile battlestation XD

Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to keep things going, out of all my ideas on page one, here are (in no particular order) my top 5 wishes:
* To-hit probabilities for individual components are based on their size, not their structural strength.
* Planetary space-yards have separate construction queues to planets themselves (eg, a planetary space-yard can't build a facility, nor a planet a ship).
* Planets have the abilities to store resources like they store cargo.
* Separate population and unit storage types.
* Provide not just a 'reload rate' stat, but also a 'shots per turn' and 'shots per combat' stat for weapons.


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

* Provide not just a 'reload rate' stat, but also a 'shots per turn' and 'shots per combat' stat for weapons.


We already have fractional reload rate; a weapon with reload rate of 0.5 will fire twice per turn, while a weapon with reload rate 1.5 will fire once, then twice, then once, then twice, etc. (Or something like that...)

That said, no, there is no "shots per turn" as distinct from reload rate, so you can't have "burst fire" weapons that fire, say, 5 times in one round, then need to cool down for a while before firing another burst. Cool idea though Smile As is "shots per combat"! Reminds me of MOO2, where missiles had a limited amount of ammo which replenished after every battle, but could fire once per turn until ammo was depleted.


That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That fractional reload rate thing is exactly what I was after thanks. What about the rest of the ideas? are they doable?

Back to top
letsdance
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 03, 2012

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when AI modding i would have liked possibility to tell the AI to destroy a certain facility to make room after something else has been researched. it could be automatic, for example if i have a planet size 4 and the build queue is A B C D E, where B is not researched yet. the AI will build A C D E. when B becomes available, the AI could destroy the last building (E) and build B instead. of course, best would be an option like Automate := yes/no for each planet type.

another thing is to distinguish between number of maximum facilities (in AI_Construction_Facilities or AI_Planet_Types). it is actually possible in planet types, but it looks only at the planet size, which is meaningless. because it does not factor in atmosphere, and it counts some planet types with very low number of possible facilities as large (irradiated i think). just adding the option to assign different planet types by atmosphere would be sufficient.


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MattII wrote:
That fractional reload rate thing is exactly what I was after thanks. What about the rest of the ideas? are they doable?


Yeah, they're doable.


That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

letsdance wrote:
when AI modding i would have liked possibility to tell the AI to destroy a certain facility to make room after something else has been researched. it could be automatic, for example if i have a planet size 4 and the build queue is A B C D E, where B is not researched yet. the AI will build A C D E. when B becomes available, the AI could destroy the last building (E) and build B instead. of course, best would be an option like Automate := yes/no for each planet type.


So basically an auto-upgrade facilities? So if you build a mineral miner I, and then you research a mineral miner II, it replaces the mineral miner I in the queue, or if the miner I was already built, it gets scrapped? And you'd be able to queue facilities you haven't researched yet?

Quote:

another thing is to distinguish between number of maximum facilities (in AI_Construction_Facilities or AI_Planet_Types). it is actually possible in planet types, but it looks only at the planet size, which is meaningless. because it does not factor in atmosphere, and it counts some planet types with very low number of possible facilities as large (irradiated i think). just adding the option to assign different planet types by atmosphere would be sufficient.


Not really familiar with how the AI works in SE4 to be able to answer that question. I'm not even sure if FrEee will use the same AI files as SE4 does... that would require recreating the exact algorithm that SE4 uses, or at least something pretty close to it!


That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Artaud
Space Emperor


Joined: Sep 23, 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing I always wished SE4 had was a txt file for individual ship names. I *love* the idea of a design name txt file, but I'm one of those people who sometimes likes to name individual ships. I often keep a sheet of paper next to the computer with a list of names.

I would like to have a drop-down that would enable me to quickly choose and apply names. The default, of course, would be the existing method of naming ships "DesignName 001."


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you want to redo the Designnames.txt file something like?
Code:
Class Name    := Arleigh Burke
Ship Name 1   := Arleigh Burke
Ship Name 2   := Barry
Ship Name 3   := John Paul Jones
Ship Name 4   := Curtis Wilbur
etc.

Class Name    := Battle
Ship Name 1   := Armada
Ship Name 2   := Barfleur
Ship Name 3   := Cadiz
etc.

Laborious, but would add variety.


Back to top
Artaud
Space Emperor


Joined: Sep 23, 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MattII wrote:
So you want to redo the Designnames.txt file something like?
Class Name := Arleigh Burke
Ship Name 1 := Arleigh Burke
Ship Name 2 := Barry
Ship Name 3 := John Paul Jones
Ship Name 4 := Curtis Wilbur
etc.

Laborious, but would add variety.


Not really. What I have in mind is [or should be] a lot simpler.

When you begin a game and decide what race you want to play, if you add it as an "add new," you specify via a drop-down what Designname.txt file you want to use. In the game, when you create a new ship or unit design, you have a drop-down that shows you that list of names. You can pick one of them or choose another one off the top of your head.

When you start a new game and add an existing race, you have whatever Designname.txt file is associated with that race.

I would like to be able to specify, when you are beginning a game, what Shipname.txt file you want to use. Maybe you are in the mood for EnglishKings.txt, or GermanUBoatCaptains.txt.

In the game, when you are looking at one of your ships, you have a button that allows you to type in a name for that ship. When you click that button, I would like to either input a name the way you can do now, or have a drop-down that shows you a list of names in your Shipname.txt file.

I see no reason to stop using the many Designname.txt files we already have for SE4. I just want to incorporate Shipname.txt files into the game.

I think the main focus of the FrEee effort should be to keep things simple. There are certain things that have kept us coming back to SE4 for many years. We should keep FrEee close to the original SE4, but add more of those things we love so much.

I personally don't want FrEee to be like MOO, or Homeland, or any other game. I like the open-ended feel of SE4. I like to be able to control everything if I want, or automate some things I don't want to bother with.

Someone mentioned adding leaders to the game. One version of Atrocities' Star Trek mod has ship captains. I would love to see this concept expanded to the stock game. I would like to see ship captains and even governmental structures like parliaments and imperial palaces for the player's capital system.


Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> FrEee All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB
All logos and trademarks used on this site, all comments and stories posted for reading, all files hosted for download,
and all art work hosted for viewing are property of their respective owners; all the rest copyright 2003-2010 Nolan Kelly.
Syndicate news: SpaceEmpires.net News RSS Feed - Syndicate forums: SpaceEmpires.net Forums RSS Feed
Page Generation: 0.20 Seconds