This site is in archival mode. A replacement is being developed. In the meantime, please use the PBW2 Forums for community discussions. The replacement software for this site will use a unified account system with PBW2, and any newly created threads will carry over.
Welcome to Spaceempires.net
Login or Register

Search
Modules
· Content
· Downloads
· Forums
· Game Info
· Image Gallery
· Links
· Shipyards
· Topics
· Staff

User Info
· Welcome, Anonymous
Membership:
· New: OAKSIF0
· New Today: 0
· New Yesterday: 0
· Overall: 3153

People Online:
· Visitors: 67
· Members: 0
· Total: 67

  

Spaceempires.net :: Known Issues in v1.19 Series :: View topic
Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in


Known Issues in v1.19 Series
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> Balance Mod
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CdrRogdan
Space Emperor


Joined: Nov 15, 2013

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well after fiddling with this for a while I cannot seem to find a solution. In fact, in my frustration I attempted to load the standard game set and it was bugged there too! Apparently there is some calculation error in the base code that causes a lesser value to be reported until the technology has been completed. Unfortunately I'm not sure where to find that =/

Back to top
Sabranan
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2013

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CdrRogdan, what Society Type have you picked for your empire?

Back to top
CdrRogdan
Space Emperor


Joined: Nov 15, 2013

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Various. I kept using quick start, mostly as abbidon since they have a starting tech boost, but I tested it using some of the warrior races too. Each time tech level 1 worked like it was supposed to, but all techs in between 1 and whatever the max was set as, reported 1/4 the specified value. Or rather it took 4 tech levels to make it increase once.

Back to top
Sabranan
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2013

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just run a test on a quick start Abbidon race, at economics tech 0 a 3620 value frigate has maintenance at 905 which is right. At level 4 it's 832 which is also right. But all the way up to (and including) level 10 it's still 832!

That's just bloody weird...


Back to top
CdrRogdan
Space Emperor


Joined: Nov 15, 2013

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I discovered what the problem is, but sadly not where I can fix it. If anyone has a better understanding of the location of the main script/event files some assistance would be greatly appreciated. In any case, none of the calculations appear to be incorrect.

What is causing the issue is when the game chooses to run checks on cultural achievements. It will always run the check when you research level 1 and level 10 (and usually updates the turn after), but it otherwise runs the check whenever you research level 1 or 10 of another achievement (I think). However, when exiting and reloading the game it will always run the check, and it always returns the correct value.


Back to top
Sabranan
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2013

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah it should recalculate those values every turn but clearly it doesn't.

Unfortunately it's a hardcoded problem.


Back to top
Skyburn
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 12, 2008

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you playing turn-based or simultaneous? Turn-based has numerous problems calculating bonuses provided by tech levels, but I don't know if the problem extends to cultural achievements.

Back to top
CdrRogdan
Space Emperor


Joined: Nov 15, 2013

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turn based. However, upon your mention of it, I attempted simultaneous (wow so much faster!) and discovered the issue persisted in that game mode too. It likely does not show up in multiplayer games since the game is saved and reloaded every turn.

Back to top
Sabranan
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2013

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I think I've fixed this problem! Unzip the following and stick it in your data folder.

http://files.spaceempires.net/user/3507/CulturalAchievements.zip

It does have two minor problems:

a) You'll have to start a new game or load from a point where nobody has researched any levels of economics or they'll get an unfair advantage. I'm guessing this is because even if you change the requirements, you can't turn off an achievement once itís been granted.

b) The events text isn't quite right, because it always reports level 1 now (though the achievement itself is named properly). This can probably be sorted out later, in the meantime it doesn't impact on gameplay at all.


Back to top
Zwo_Dvoongar
Space Emperor


Joined: Feb 02, 2011

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sabranan wrote:
Ok, I think I've fixed this problem! Unzip the following and stick it in your data folder.

http://files.spaceempires.net/user/3507/CulturalAchievements.zip

It does have two minor problems:

a) You'll have to start a new game or load from a point where nobody has researched any levels of economics or they'll get an unfair advantage. I'm guessing this is because even if you change the requirements, you can't turn off an achievement once itís been granted.

b) The events text isn't quite right, because it always reports level 1 now (though the achievement itself is named properly). This can probably be sorted out later, in the meantime it doesn't impact on gameplay at all.

I took a look, and I like your approach. I'd suggest trying one change: instead of accumulating all the levels, using "Level >=" , I think there's a good shot it'd work with "Level =" and then applying the desired amount for each given level.


Back to top
Sabranan
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2013

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is once an achievement is uh, achieved, it can't be turned off. It's going to accumulate with the previous levels even if the requirements for those levels are no longer valid.

Back to top
Io_Andreew
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 11, 2014

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:57 am    Post subject: About asteroids: question for Captain Kwok Reply with quote

Hy all, I am new here Smile
Like lot other peoples waiting for next Balance Mod update.
Want to ask Captain Kwok if he plan to introduce in his update the option to colonise asteroids. Asteroids can be used for a lot of purposes: military bases, cargo space, scientific laboratory, and many others, but so far all is possible to do is just remote mining option.


Back to top
RasterOps
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 27, 2008
Location: Tempe, Az. USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to add a little detail:

  • Hydrogen Planet Rebels, having Jraenar Population:
  • Indigenous Jraenar population is replaced with non Hydrogen gulpers. Where'd they come from?
  • An excess population magically appears (6+ times original). Jraenar population was ~160M of 1000M. The new population is 1000M of 200M... they should all be deaders. Wink
  • I retake the planet... easily
  • Now surprisingly, amazingly, suddenly, unexpectedly, impossibly my population is back but... they aren't my population
  • When moved off planet, because they can't breath, and placed on suitable planets, they don't merge with existing population supposedly of the same type.


BTW, I think this is the first rebellion I've ever had to deal with. Keep up the good work.


My ministers are "more sinisters than ministers".


Back to top
marhawkman
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 24, 2008

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The script function for allegiance changes is weird alright. Even more so is the function for revolts.

I once saw something really weird happen when I stole a ship full of enemy colonists with an intel project. The colonists were all but useless and I eventually spaced them. How were they useless? They remained loyal to their original faction and started riots if I tried to put them on a planet.


Back to top
RasterOps
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 27, 2008
Location: Tempe, Az. USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stealing a colony ship and having the results you did actually makes sense to me. The problem is most game designers fail to provide integral information to the player who is left: jaw dropped, awe struck, angry or scratching their head. For instance, your intel project caused the ships captain and crew to switch sides so you gain a ship filled with colonists in stasis chambers, cryo-sleep, whatever. The colonists are clueless as to what transpired. It wasn't their choice and thus remain loyal to their empire.

My ministers are "more sinisters than ministers".


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problems I'm not sure are from core:

Simultaneous game: Not all messages are reaching the right race. I just had a message from Cue Kappa for a treaty I already had - but their response was addressed to another race. And wasn't for us.

Renaming ships doesn't always stick.

Retrofitting ships get their orders wiped if they are AI controlled. Seems to me the AI should finish retrofit orders before wiping them - the AI then didn't give them any orders because there was nothing for those ships to do.

Things I don't remember being SEV bugs:

Renaming ships isn't always working; I had the naming minister on and he was just truncating names weirdly. Colonies aren't always remember what their colony type is - sometimes it takes a two or three tries to set the colony type.

-Crissa


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay... Is there something in BM that'll make orders not work right?

A fleet attacks a planet; Attack orders 'Short range' and defense orders 'blockade' - these ships flee combat. Second task force orders 'Drop troops' one ships flees, the other two attack. This is before any movement in combat.

Of course, since more than half the fleet fled, they get their asses handed to themselves.

What gives? I recall this being iffy, but I don't recall it being that stupid.

-Crissa

PS

Okay, The third ship of the second task force always wanders off. Weird. The first task force doesn't seem to target weapons platforms... Once the fighters are gone, they don't engage the planet, leaving the troop transports to be slaughtered. Hmm.

PPS

Nope, Short Range and Optimal Range for some reason are not engaging a planet with only weapons platforms. The computer players are hitting the worlds two or three times in a turn, so they're not having this issue. Weird.


Back to top
RasterOps
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 27, 2008
Location: Tempe, Az. USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Society Types file has numerous differences than are in the description of the society or the included table. For instance:
  • Engineers are described as having a maintenance bonus but are actually penalized
  • Berzerkers "Trade Modifier" amount malus is greater than indicated in the table
  • Industrialists happiness is not penalized as indicated in the table
  • Merchants are not penalized for intelligence point generation as indicated in the table
  • Merchants "Trade Modifier" amount is greater than indicated in the table
  • Politicians Intelligence Point Generation is a malus whereas the table indicates a bonus
  • Traders "Ability 2 Description" has a typo
  • Warriors table does not match race abilities


The table in GovernmentTypes.txt similarly does not match the actual values of each type.


My ministers are "more sinisters than ministers".


Back to top
marhawkman
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 24, 2008

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Orders are complicated. Sad Are you sure you had the damage amount set right?

Back to top
Zwo_Dvoongar
Space Emperor


Joined: Feb 02, 2011

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crissa wrote:
Problems I'm not sure are from core:

Simultaneous game: Not all messages are reaching the right race. I just had a message from Cue Kappa for a treaty I already had - but their response was addressed to another race. And wasn't for us.

That's strange. It is supposed to be the case that not all messages get through, but for a message to be received by someone else? I haven't seen anything like that before.

Quote:
Renaming ships doesn't always stick.

That'd be an issue with the hardcode.

Quote:
Retrofitting ships get their orders wiped if they are AI controlled. Seems to me the AI should finish retrofit orders before wiping them - the AI then didn't give them any orders because there was nothing for those ships to do.

Okay, the ships need to have their previous orders wiped. The changes might not just be simple upgrades - a ship could retrofit to an entirely different role.

That the AI is sometimes slow to issue new orders is something I don't think the mod can help. I've had it take a turn for the AI to "find" ships without orders myself. Can't say why that happens. The scripts do scan for ships without orders, and will issue something when they find one.

Another issue there: repair time. If a ship were left with its old orders, and went to do them before it was fully repaired, that could be bad news.


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zwo_Dvoongar wrote:
Quote:
Renaming ships doesn't always stick.

That'd be an issue with the hardcode.

Huh, never had a problem before, but I ended up with everything with weird names in that game.

Zwo_Dvoongar wrote:
Quote:
Retrofitting ships get their orders wiped if they are AI controlled. Seems to me the AI should finish retrofit orders before wiping them - the AI then didn't give them any orders because there was nothing for those ships to do.

Okay, the ships need to have their previous orders wiped. The changes might not just be simple upgrades - a ship could retrofit to an entirely different role.

No, I mean, the AI decided to wipe the retrofit order from the stack. I guess the AI can't really remember what previous orders are? But without a big reason to, it shouldn't countermand prior orders.

Anyhow, it was mostly annoying because I did want to change the type and when it wiped the order it didn't give the ship anything to do because there was nothing for it to do, which is why it had the retrofit order.

Zwo_Dvoongar wrote:
Another issue there: repair time. If a ship were left with its old orders, and went to do them before it was fully repaired, that could be bad news.

That makes no sense, because the repair order would've been last on the stack. A repair order should probably trump most orders aside from fleet orders and delivery orders.

It shouldn't be erasing orders if there's no new order to give it!

The fleet issue is one that's bigger; if specific ships in a fleet aren't following fleet orders, how do you code around that?

-Crissa


Back to top
Zwo_Dvoongar
Space Emperor


Joined: Feb 02, 2011

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RasterOps wrote:
The Society Types file has numerous differences than are in the description of the society or the included table. For instance:
  • Engineers are described as having a maintenance bonus but are actually penalized
  • Berzerkers "Trade Modifier" amount malus is greater than indicated in the table
  • Industrialists happiness is not penalized as indicated in the table
  • Merchants are not penalized for intelligence point generation as indicated in the table
  • Merchants "Trade Modifier" amount is greater than indicated in the table
  • Politicians Intelligence Point Generation is a malus whereas the table indicates a bonus
  • Traders "Ability 2 Description" has a typo
  • Warriors table does not match race abilities


The table in GovernmentTypes.txt similarly does not match the actual values of each type.


Okay, engineers are described properly in the descriptions; maybe you interpreted the table the other way? The descriptions say they pay more.

The table, I'm guessing, hasn't been updated as changes were made.


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The society types aren't balanced at all. Compare Politicians, for instance.

-Crissa


Back to top
RasterOps
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 27, 2008
Location: Tempe, Az. USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zwo_Dvoongar wrote:

Okay, engineers are described properly in the descriptions; maybe you interpreted the table the other way? The descriptions say they pay more.

The table, I'm guessing, hasn't been updated as changes were made.


The description I read is "are adept at construction, maintaining and repairing complex vehicles". This implies a bonus, they pay less. The abilities are: "...Ship (Facility, Unit) maintenance increased by...", which is opposite of the table and description.

So the table and description are correct for Engineers? Then that isn't the problem. However, the applied ability is opposite of the description and table. The ability should read a decrease in maintenance costs and the formula should be negative instead of positive. A negative formula would match the table.


My ministers are "more sinisters than ministers".


Back to top
Zwo_Dvoongar
Space Emperor


Joined: Feb 02, 2011

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RasterOps wrote:
Zwo_Dvoongar wrote:

Okay, engineers are described properly in the descriptions; maybe you interpreted the table the other way? The descriptions say they pay more.

The table, I'm guessing, hasn't been updated as changes were made.


The description I read is "are adept at construction, maintaining and repairing complex vehicles". This implies a bonus, they pay less. The abilities are: "...Ship (Facility, Unit) maintenance increased by...", which is opposite of the table and description.

So the table and description are correct for Engineers? Then that isn't the problem. However, the applied ability is opposite of the description and table. The ability should read a decrease in maintenance costs and the formula should be negative instead of positive. A negative formula would match the table.


Hmmm - difficult to say what was intended. I took it to mean the good engineers had a trade-off, but maybe it was all supposed to be gravy.


Now as long as I'm here, there's an apparent problem in the "Lucky" racial trait. Unlike the Fate Shrine, only one ability is listed, while two are given in the description. The modding pdf lists separate abilities for bad event chance & bad intel chance. I think both are needed to match the description shown in game.


Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> Balance Mod All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 19 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB
All logos and trademarks used on this site, all comments and stories posted for reading, all files hosted for download,
and all art work hosted for viewing are property of their respective owners; all the rest copyright 2003-2010 Nolan Kelly.
Syndicate news: SpaceEmpires.net News RSS Feed - Syndicate forums: SpaceEmpires.net Forums RSS Feed
Page Generation: 0.17 Seconds