This site is in archival mode. A replacement is being developed. In the meantime, please use the PBW2 Forums for community discussions. The replacement software for this site will use a unified account system with PBW2, and any newly created threads will carry over.
Welcome to Spaceempires.net
Login or Register

Search
Modules
· Content
· Downloads
· Forums
· Game Info
· Image Gallery
· Links
· Shipyards
· Topics
· Staff

User Info
· Welcome, Anonymous
Membership:
· New: Astorre
· New Today: 0
· New Yesterday: 0
· Overall: 3155

People Online:
· Visitors: 114
· Members: 0
· Total: 114

  

Spaceempires.net :: New PBW2 Site :: View topic
Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in


New PBW2 Site
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> SEIV Play By Web
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:31 pm    Post subject: New PBW2 Site Reply with quote

Announcing a new, under-development PBW replacement site. Click on the "New?" link to read about about its design philosophy.

http://pbw.spaceempires.net/


Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exciting stuff - but can I change my avatar myself? I couldn't find any way to do that.

Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
Shrike
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 17, 2006

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kwok, you must be running a big screen like myself Very Happy Just check out the top right menu links when in your profile view. There's an avatar upload function there.

Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I'm in my user profile, my top right menu only consists of a link to my dashboard, logout, and a small avatar that also has a link to my dashboard.

Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
TheChin
Space Emperor


Joined: Nov 07, 2008
Location: Cleveland, Oh

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you see the 'Quick Links' section just below that? I'm using Opera and I can the Quick Links and they have and "Edit Profile" link in them.

Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My quicklinks menu is the same - just a link to the dashboard or the user list. Perhaps it's because I didn't join a game?

Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I joined a game and it didn't change anything.

I did notice though when I quit the game, it retained my shipset name and folder, which it shouldn't have considering the game hasn't started. It was the 'SA' BM v1.19 game.


Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
Shrike
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 17, 2006

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Click Users > your user profile > edit user profile (quick link menu). If you don't see that option, then you're probably not logged in or need to switch browsers.

Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The contents of the quick links menu vary depending on what part of the site you are viewing. You can always reach your dashboard page by clicking on your username in the top right corner. From there, you will get an "Edit Profile" link on the right.

Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no problem getting the 'Edit Profile' button, it just takes me to a page with the same two links...

What I see in FF or IE:
http://files.spaceempires.net/user/9/pbw2edit.jpg


Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, the wonders of case-insensitive login operations..

Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
LennyNro
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 19, 2009

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have submitted Atrocities Star Trek mod to the new PBW2 some days ago, was thinking to start a game with it, any news still? should i redo the submission? please let me know

Sometimes the same is different
but mostly its the same
- J.Homme


Back to top
Intimidator
Space Emperor


Joined: Dec 23, 2004

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I would like to join such game, so please keep me informed?!

Back to top
LennyNro
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 19, 2009

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure i'll do, through the other topic i started or PM, since i don't have your mail address, intimidator

Sometimes the same is different
but mostly its the same
- J.Homme


Back to top
Shrike
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 17, 2006

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fyron, is there a function in your roadmap to show turn time and server time translated to the time zone of the player's choice? I'm not from the USofA, so reading 'Due Date: 2009-05-08 08:53:00 EST' while I have no clue what the server time is, is a little uncomfortable.

Back to top
SuicideJunkie
Leaky Guru


Joined: May 28, 2005
Location: Canada!

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another good option, which would be global, is to have a time delta.

Instead of saying due at 5:30pm, say Due in 4:00... 3:59... 3:58...


Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is the due date; the server runs on EST. Better time/date display is planned.

Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok! I've now added timezone settings (on your profile edit page). I've set timezones up according to the list of cities on this Wikipedia article. Hopefully this will work. Wink

All dates on the site should now be translated to match your timezone setting. RSS feeds are still naturally in GMT timezone, as per the RSS specification. Please let me know what I've missed or ruined!


Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
Shrike
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 17, 2006

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking good Fyron. We don't use AM or PM in our time notation, but that's trivial.

Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... I can (and have!) add a 24hr clock setting easily enough. View helpers are grand!

Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
Quatele
Space Emperor


Joined: May 10, 2009

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 4:39 pm    Post subject: PBW Server Reply with quote

I'm looking to setup a PBW server. Is there a mod that's available for this or are folks building this up from scratch. I'm mostly interested in the auto hosting functions.

Thanks!
{Q}


Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do you want to set up yet another PBW server?

Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
Quatele
Space Emperor


Joined: May 10, 2009

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 7:39 pm    Post subject: PBW Server Reply with quote

Looking to setup a server for my personal use - games with my brothers, friends, etc. Probably only be running 1 or 2 games at a time. I already have a server out on the web with some similar stuff on it, just looking to see if there was already something developed other than the "AutoHost" tool that I've seen around.

BTW, love the Quadrant Mod, thanks for building it.


Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a "PBFTP" program/script floating around somewhere that might be of use..

Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
Shrike
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 17, 2006

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems like my ISP's spam filtering is preventing me from receiving new turn notification e-mails. Is there something in the address, subject or body that would cause this? Can you post the address the mails are being sent from here? I might be able to get it whitelisted with my ISP.

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> SEIV Play By Web All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB
All logos and trademarks used on this site, all comments and stories posted for reading, all files hosted for download,
and all art work hosted for viewing are property of their respective owners; all the rest copyright 2003-2010 Nolan Kelly.
Syndicate news: SpaceEmpires.net News RSS Feed - Syndicate forums: SpaceEmpires.net Forums RSS Feed
Page Generation: 0.20 Seconds