This site is in archival mode. A replacement is being developed. In the meantime, please use the PBW2 Forums for community discussions. The replacement software for this site will use a unified account system with PBW2, and any newly created threads will carry over.
Welcome to Spaceempires.net
Login or Register

Search
Modules
· Content
· Downloads
· Forums
· Game Info
· Image Gallery
· Links
· Shipyards
· Topics
· Staff

User Info
· Welcome, Anonymous
Membership:
· New: Tiregan
· New Today: 0
· New Yesterday: 0
· Overall: 3154

People Online:
· Visitors: 116
· Members: 0
· Total: 116

  

Spaceempires.net :: [DN5] Bug Report List :: View topic
Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in


[DN5] Bug Report List
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> Dark Nova Mod
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Normandy333
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 03, 2007

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think he's referring to the bigger carriers such as Motherships, with 6k cargo space and need 50% fighter bays - which takes up all but a few spaces in the ship hull.

Back to top
exelsiar
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 14, 2007
Location: Fleet, England, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've not done much ship research but i've just finished 'space platform construction' and 'frigate construction' it seems level 10 in both gives absolutely nothing, quite a let down Sad

edit: it appears frigate construction goes beyond lvl 10, shows no expected results so ive moved on and am researching other stuffs...


Grand Lord Exelsiar of the Azra-Dun Commonwealth, at your service


Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found and fixed the problem with Fighter Bay requirements. I had the ability for Unit Launch include Deep Space fighters but the requirment on the hull apparently can't adjust for that (I tried to add them both).

So what I've done is I had to add the Unit Launch - Deep Space Fighter as a seperate ability. I've tested it and it works.

This is also the case with the new Fighter Hanger (approx 10x a normal fighter bay). The Hanger appears to make the larger ships (Motherships and such) work within their launching requirements. The Hanger also has the ability to launch scouts during combat as well.

Fixed 2 birds with one stone on that one!


Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

exelsiar wrote:
i've not done much ship research but i've just finished 'space platform construction' and 'frigate construction' it seems level 10 in both gives absolutely nothing, quite a let down Sad

edit: it appears frigate construction goes beyond lvl 10, shows no expected results so ive moved on and am researching other stuffs...


That is correct. For now. Frigate construction actually goes to 15 levels. I will be adding what I call 'speciallization' stuff at higher levels of various ship hull techs.

For example, in DN4, scouts, escorts and frigates all had special Shield generator mounts that gave more shields/kt than normal to represent overlapping shield coverage due to smaller ship size. I need ideas for these as I want to have special componets, mounts and possibley even hull abilities based on levels of specialization.

Please, if you have ideas for specialized items, let me know.


Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
exelsiar
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 14, 2007
Location: Fleet, England, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahh now that sounds pretty good to work on, tho atm i can only think of the mounts and what not that was in DN4, if i think of anything i'll get back to you ^_^

Grand Lord Exelsiar of the Azra-Dun Commonwealth, at your service


Back to top
Astorax
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 14, 2008

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about some specialized level of say frigate or whatever be a covert ops spec - hull imbued cloaking ability, perhaps it could be upgraded like normal cloaks so it takes better and better sensors to detect it.

Maybe another could incorporate the solar sail into a hull? Dunno, just throwing ideas out there.


Back to top
Astorax
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 14, 2008

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ya know, I was thinking (don't worry, I was careful) - what if you had different tech areas opened up for each specialization tree and, depending on which tree you researched and how far, that would be your hull. So say I researched (in that previous example) level 2 covert ops hulls and level 1 solar sail hulls = a level 2 covert ops level 1 solar sail hull. It would be like a grid where what you research equates to what your hull is. In fact, that would be sweet for all hulls come to think about it.

Back to top
Astorax
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 14, 2008

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another hull could be combining the hull + say Tachyon sensors or something. If you did the grid layout for hulls that would go great with a covert ops hull.

Also, have each specialization not only dependent on the level of hull researched but also whatever else it does. So like you would need to have researched Sensors/Scanners up to be able to use a Tachyon sensor hull or research up Solar Sails to have a hull like that.


Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to keep the more dramatic abilities off of hulls and instead have them gained by components and/or mounts. Because the mindset behind Dark Nova is Diversity, what I want to avoid is having certain hulls become task-specific.

What I mean is that I want keep the situation away from "Frigates are covert ops ships". Instead, I want to provide enough options that for one player, frigates may be just that but for another they are small warships to be feared. The actual role of the ship I want to leave up to the player.

Perhaps, however, a special solar sail designed to work with that specific ship size?


Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
Astorax
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 14, 2008

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Umm but wouldn't that promote diversity? You could end up having a covert ops hull on a battleship. I mean you wouldn't necessarily have to use that type of hull for a specific class of ship unless thats the only class of ship you can build or have researched.

Like if I researched upto cruiser level hulls and had opened up the tech areas for the specializations from ...Industry? (whatever) then I researched those, I could make a hull from one of the specs fit on cruiser on down ...even a covert ops hulled colony ship!


Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oohhh. I get it. I though you ment a specific hull size. But what you are saying is that if someone researched (covert Ops hulls) then they could end up with a CO frigate, or a CO cruiser or a CO worldship depending on which type of hull they were specializing in.

Got it. hmmmm, merits some deeper thinking Smile


Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
Astorax
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 14, 2008

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right! And also, combo hulls perhaps combining 2 or more specs! Not sure if you would think that unbalanced but I'm sure the hulls would increase in cost so perhaps it could be balanced that way?

Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just an FYI:
You do realize that I've already boosted the VehicleSize file by a factor of 5, right? Very Happy


Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
Astorax
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 14, 2008

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol, sorry man I get carried away with ideas sometimes Wink

Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No worries. Theres no such thing as too many ideas.

Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
exelsiar
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 14, 2007
Location: Fleet, England, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5.03
- Baseship is harder to hit than world ship... -200% compared to -198% or sumut like that... havnt got the figures with me.


Grand Lord Exelsiar of the Azra-Dun Commonwealth, at your service


Back to top
exelsiar
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 14, 2007
Location: Fleet, England, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5.04
- Supply storage, medium is 5kt rather than 10kt.


not a bug, but 5.04 breaks save games.. kinda... most components go outa wack i know the whys.. again kinda.. sumut to do with the way the game reads components, so adding new ones messes with it. i know it technicly doesnt break it as its only a nuisance thing, but i felt like typing something out Rolling Eyes


Grand Lord Exelsiar of the Azra-Dun Commonwealth, at your service


Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's because I've added new components. If I had added the new ones to the bottom of the list, then everything would have worked just fine. Since SEV puts components in alphabetical order, that would have kept existing games intact. The reason I didn't, though, is to make it easier for me to make further changes if needed, or track down bugs, by keeping similar components together.

Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
StarDragon
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 15, 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:08 pm    Post subject: Log bugs after install Reply with quote

Question, I wanted to try the asteroid colonies, Dark Nova, and one other but when I installed them all into game types it made numerous log/main string errors.

Is the newest patch not supported? Or did I do something wrong?
I have since had to uninstall completely and reinstalled.
Pls tell me how to properly install a SEV mod. Thanks! Smile
(can you have multipel mods installed? or do you need seperate installs of SE V?)


"Don't think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!" - Brig Gen Star Dragon...


Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you can have multiple mods installed but each mod needs to have its own folder in the GameTypes folder in SEV. Combining mods is tricky as it depends on what changes each mod had made.

DN5 does work with SEV 1.71 though there still is no working AI. There is a newer version but it's being beta tested before I release it. The last patch I released had some bugs in it that I didn't notice. Expect v5.05 out within a week.


Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
StarDragon
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 15, 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem, I just wanted to make sure I wasn't screwing up the installation. I hadn't touched it since I bought it.

I'm playing a regular game tot eh end to get refamiliar with tech trees etc. So far I haven't found a single ruin, and the phase shielding is not gained yet, nor wave motion gun? Is there a table that lists all tech levels? Also I'm pretty sure I did not disable ruin generation.... (this is the core game, no mods)

I want to get started on images for my old projects again and then worry about models and text file balancing later on.

Looks like you and Captain K are adding a bunch of new stuff that will really make things interesting!

I do have one observation though. It seems the descriptions are sometimes vague with regards to direct weapons. Seems like they all are basicly the same thing, a gun.

Aside for the polaron gun (which bypasses shields), why woudl I want to put any points in any other guns? IS it a waste of research?

I remember finding new tech in ruins, but can you gain another race's tech? (maybe by conquest, occupation?)

Sorry for the 20 questions, I just want to get a better understanding for making future tech trees to amke it worth it as well as how to make new weaponry that is actually useful and different from standard tech.

Oh, and what happened to the "Genesis Devices" or whatever the component was to make a planet? Wink


"Don't think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!" - Brig Gen Star Dragon...


Back to top
bearclaw
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In stock, ruins are few and far between. IIRC 0.5% of planets would have ruins. Because of the additions in DN5, I belive that is increased to 1.2%. Still, not a whole lot.

The biggest difference in the weapons has to do with their ROF and dmg. Some weapons appear to be better choices but in the long run are not as good as others. Example: WMG do lots of dmg but their reload rates are so high that other weapons like Anti-Proton Beams end up doing more damage in the long run. And then there are range factors too.

In stock, you'll only find one of 5 (I think) unique techs from ruins or you'll find 1-3 levels of normal techs. That's it. In DN5, there are still the 5 unique techs but also unique versions of a lot of racial techs too. I've also got some plans for several new unique techs to add.

The planet creator is found by researching Stellar Manipulation technology. There is a setting when you create a game that allows you to see the entire Tech Tree from the research screen. A great way to learn what is where.

Hope that helps!


Nick (bearclaw)

"You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master"


Back to top
StarDragon
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 15, 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot! I must ahve moved some fiels around ealier cause I got Balance installed now ok. I noticed teh core game has insane tech levels (up to 100) opposed to SE4. No wonder I kept saying "where's the tech?" lol! I won the map with like a 37 in my highest tech researched...

.5% on ruins? damn that's low. I'm glad to see you've tripled that! I look forward to giving yor mod a go once you're done with Beta. Smile


"Don't think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!" - Brig Gen Star Dragon...


Back to top
Astorax
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 14, 2008

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done with beta? I don't think any mod is out of beta until the author stops work on it completely. By that logic even Balance Mod is still in beta, as comprehensive as it is, because its still being playtested and tweaked.

I hope none of my favorite mods are ever out of beta, tbh.


Back to top
ForesterSOF
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 23, 2007

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just got Repair bay in 505 and it talks about repairing Facilities.

The problem is I have no facilities on my ships.

If you research Repair enough do you get a Facility for repair.


Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> Dark Nova Mod All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB
All logos and trademarks used on this site, all comments and stories posted for reading, all files hosted for download,
and all art work hosted for viewing are property of their respective owners; all the rest copyright 2003-2010 Nolan Kelly.
Syndicate news: SpaceEmpires.net News RSS Feed - Syndicate forums: SpaceEmpires.net Forums RSS Feed
Page Generation: 0.19 Seconds