This site is in archival mode. A replacement is being developed. In the meantime, please use the PBW2 Forums for community discussions. The replacement software for this site will use a unified account system with PBW2, and any newly created threads will carry over.
Welcome to Spaceempires.net
Login or Register

Search
Modules
· Content
· Downloads
· Forums
· Game Info
· Image Gallery
· Links
· Shipyards
· Topics
· Staff

User Info
· Welcome, Anonymous
Membership:
· New: Astorre
· New Today: 0
· New Yesterday: 0
· Overall: 3155

People Online:
· Visitors: 153
· Members: 0
· Total: 153

  

Spaceempires.net :: SEV 1.08 Bug List :: View topic
Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in


SEV 1.08 Bug List
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> SEV Spaceport
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SuicideJunkie
Leaky Guru


Joined: May 28, 2005
Location: Canada!

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the first, you're stuck permanently with whatever low tech design. Not good.

I originally made a militia unit type for GGmod, but until the game remembers the position and number of remaining militia units for subsequent ground combats, I've had to just disable militia completely.

Randomly respawning militia means you either win the combat in one month, or you spend a bunch of months fighting a completely hopeless series of battles. Sad


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd assume it chooses the most recent design using the troop hull.

Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sunnendei_Tinco wrote:
Pre 1.71 games are not compatible with the 1.71 patch.

Not true; my 1.66 FQM test games all load fine in 1.71. I've even got a 1.44 savegame laying around that loads up fine. Its just mods that need updating with some new script function parameters. The savegames will follow.


Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd rather it not remember the position, but the number of destroyed might be nice. I just figure the militia represent the minimum amount of force to pacify a population.

As I've yet to win a ground combat in 1.71 (I've fought a dozen now, some being multi-month battles, which I kinda like...) I can't tell if population loyalty is still screwed up.

-Crissa


Back to top
SuicideJunkie
Leaky Guru


Joined: May 28, 2005
Location: Canada!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it doesn't remember the positions, you'll never be able to chase them down in short ground combats.

You'd have to hope that they randomly appear right beside you.
I suppose it wouldn't be as bad if I made them immobile "resistance safehouses" or something.


Back to top
Sunnendei_Tinco
Space Emperor


Joined: Oct 20, 2006
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fyron wrote:
Sunnendei_Tinco wrote:
Pre 1.71 games are not compatible with the 1.71 patch.

Not true; my 1.66 FQM test games all load fine in 1.71. I've even got a 1.44 savegame laying around that loads up fine. Its just mods that need updating with some new script function parameters. The savegames will follow.


I realized that after the fact, didn't notice that Crissa had applied the patch for BM 1.14 until sometime yesterday.


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:05 am    Post subject: Bug: 1.71 Combat Reply with quote

Clear Target doesn't clear target. Targeting an ally no longer attacks the ally. (This is useful when being forced into combat by allies that are fighting.)

Clear Target + Deselecting Autotargeting doesn't trigger fleeing. They continue attacking despite orders.

-Crissa

Also, it would be nice if 'This unit can retreat' was deselectable as well to force units to remain in the sector instead of leaving.


Back to top
Skyburn
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 12, 2008

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the Construction Queues screen, the build rate of the planets are not updated if the queue is set to emergency build. The screen will still show the 100% build rate not the 150% that it should.

Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SuicideJunkie wrote:
If it doesn't remember the positions, you'll never be able to chase them down in short ground combats.

Militia always start in the city. Other units start in the city. You run in and fight. How simple is that? Troops have nowhere to run to, so it's more annoying that anything.

Either way, I end up landing heavy fighter support when my troops can't suppress the resistance. They can't run away from that.

So remembering positions is actually more annoying, since I already have to run them down, and clear militia from town.

-Crissa


Back to top
SuicideJunkie
Leaky Guru


Joined: May 28, 2005
Location: Canada!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crissa wrote:
SuicideJunkie wrote:
If it doesn't remember the positions, you'll never be able to chase them down in short ground combats.

Militia always start in the city. Other units start in the city. You run in and fight. How simple is that? Troops have nowhere to run to, so it's more annoying that anything.

Either way, I end up landing heavy fighter support when my troops can't suppress the resistance. They can't run away from that.

So remembering positions is actually more annoying, since I already have to run them down, and clear militia from town.

-Crissa
You seem to be presuming the ability to catch up to them within a single combat regardless of your relative positions.
In which case it doesn't matter if their positions are remembered or not.

On the other hand, if you try to make ground combat more than a one-turn instant win/loss affair by shortening the time limit and keeping troops slow... then teleporting militia cannot be caught unless they randomly appear within a short distance of your troops.


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Militia always appear in the city already. It's not a big deal; you stake out the city on the second or third month.

What is a big deal is that more often than not, the position of my troops is incorrect because it's being misremembered from a battle that did not happen on this planet.

So yeah, going back to start positions would be better than this.

-Crissa


Back to top
SuicideJunkie
Leaky Guru


Joined: May 28, 2005
Location: Canada!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you playing tactical combat or something?

Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Troops need to not retreat, basically, so you need to give them tactics that work in ground combat:

Aim at Damaged things.
Kill Damaged things all the way.
Kill what's nearest.
Kill Troops, Fighters, Platforms.
Never retreat.

Pretty simple ^-^

If you want them not to leave town, have them target buildings instead of chasing down troops, but that's iffy.

-Crissa


Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:00 am    Post subject: ver 1.71 Reply with quote

Still a bug: Tactical setting: Long range

Description: Ships pursuing slow or stop before firing. This means they'll stay out of range forever, and never fire again. This happens even with fighters.

Ships on intercept should slow or stop before firing; however if you can't determine intercept vs pursuit ships should not slow down until they have fired.

Still a bug: If a unit A in combat cannot target unit B, unit B treat A as though it is weaponless, even if unit B is in a fleet/taskforce with units that can be targeted by unit A.

That's just not good.

-Crissa


Back to top
Firzen_Zero
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 05, 2008

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Expected research results sometimes don't show all objects. Most often components with only one level and above tech level 3.

Back to top
Crissa
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 07, 2006

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's an old bug, FZ. Expected results are only calculations based upon tech you already have, with a primary tech area of the tech you're researching.

It'd have to compile a list of expected results which are correct by combing through several files, which it doesn't do. Probably for time reasons.

I think more important is that the game doesn't pare down in active memory how much information it needs to deal with:

Bug: Game becomes choppy in Construction Queues in full galaxies.
Solution: Cut down the table size for construction queues by player and perhaps by some other filters to reduce memory usage.

-Crissa


Back to top
Firzen_Zero
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 05, 2008

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's normal that half of my result lists are empty? I don't think so.

Back to top
Fyron
Galactic Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crissa wrote:
Bug: Game becomes choppy in Construction Queues in full galaxies.
Solution: Cut down the table size for construction queues by player and perhaps by some other filters to reduce memory usage.

The amount of memory used is not the issue; the issue is how the game actually indexes the data and trawls it for each player. If everything is in one giant list/array/vector, that's a problem. If things are stored in lists/arrays/vectors per player ID, not so much. Store it all in a giant hash table? Could be blazing fast if done right. None of us really knows what Aaron did there.

Firzen_Zero wrote:
It's normal that half of my result lists are empty? I don't think so.

Its certainly normal... the bug has been with us for a while, yet to really be fixed.


Smarter than your average Texrak.


Back to top
SuicideJunkie
Leaky Guru


Joined: May 28, 2005
Location: Canada!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crissa wrote:
Troops need to not retreat, basically, so you need to give them tactics that work in ground combat:

Aim at Damaged things.
Kill Damaged things all the way.
Kill what's nearest.
Kill Troops, Fighters, Platforms.
Never retreat.

Pretty simple ^-^

If you want them not to leave town, have them target buildings instead of chasing down troops, but that's iffy.

-Crissa
You're suffering from stockitis.

Tactics that work when you have cool mod physics:
- Shoot the enemy only until their weapons are disabled... Don't waste time finishing off one unit when you could have disabled two or three targets in the same amount of time.
- Keep your fragile artillery back behind the main lines and pummel the least damaged units with high power shots to break their defenses.
- Send heavily armored cannon fodder in close to draw enemy fire away from more vulnerable units. Target light weapons against the most damaged enemies that still have weapons; these will be the ones where the emissive armor is broken thanks to artillery hits.
- Have some insurgency units with orders to retreat. Stay alive long enough for the combat to end, and thus for reinforcements to arrive or be built. Prevent the enemy from completing their takeover for as many months as possible.


Back to top
Firzen_Zero
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 05, 2008

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fyron wrote:
Firzen_Zero wrote:
It's normal that half of my result lists are empty? I don't think so.

Its certainly normal... the bug has been with us for a while, yet to really be fixed.

My current game is the first where I have ever seen that.


Back to top
TheThirdEye
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 22, 2009
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:34 am    Post subject: Moving Items in sector view doesn't work Reply with quote

Moving Items in sector view doesn't work. The next turn all the moving I did is gone.
Sats go back to the silly circle around the warp points.
Moving bases (so the def ones are around the SY ones) doesn't work either.

Makes tactical placement impossible. Evil or Very Mad


Back to top
Ender
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 18, 2008

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it really not work? It worked earlier...

Back to top
Shrike
Space Emperor


Joined: Jun 17, 2006

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works for me. Just don't expect things to assume the positions you set them at after there's been a battle in the sector.

Back to top
TheThirdEye
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 22, 2009
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, it doesn't work consistently. Sometimes the placement will work, sometimes it is ignored.

Yes, after a battle everything has moved. They move during the battle, of course. When it is over, they stay in those positions, which is what they should do be doing.

I suspect it has to do with new ship/fleets arriving at the location.
With a new arrival, everybody (almost) goes into fleet formations again (more or less); although the formation could be anywhere in the sector.
Probably realigns on the Leader, where ever they ended up.


Back to top
TheThirdEye
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 22, 2009
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about a new sticky for SEV 1.79 bugs?
As it has been 1.7ish for a while now, we should compile a new list of current bugs.


Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> SEV Spaceport All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB
All logos and trademarks used on this site, all comments and stories posted for reading, all files hosted for download,
and all art work hosted for viewing are property of their respective owners; all the rest copyright 2003-2010 Nolan Kelly.
Syndicate news: SpaceEmpires.net News RSS Feed - Syndicate forums: SpaceEmpires.net Forums RSS Feed
Page Generation: 0.33 Seconds