This site is in archival mode. A replacement is being developed. In the meantime, please use the PBW2 Forums for community discussions. The replacement software for this site will use a unified account system with PBW2, and any newly created threads will carry over.
Welcome to Spaceempires.net
Login or Register

Search
Modules
· Content
· Downloads
· Forums
· Game Info
· Image Gallery
· Links
· Shipyards
· Topics
· Staff

User Info
· Welcome, Anonymous
Membership:
· New: OAKSIF0
· New Today: 0
· New Yesterday: 0
· Overall: 3153

People Online:
· Visitors: 65
· Members: 0
· Total: 65

  

Spaceempires.net :: Balance Mod v1.20 Alpha Available! :: View topic
Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in


Balance Mod v1.20 Alpha Available!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> Balance Mod
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Strider
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 02, 2015

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CaptainKwok wrote:
Only ships under minister control are consider eligible to be sent for resupply when the Resupply Minister is used.

The "Resupply Nearest" order itself is a hard-coded game order. Not sure what Aaron's criteria was, but it tends to pick only planets with very high levels of supplies/ordnance in storage. In the early game, that tends to be your starting planet.


Thanks for quick reply. That makes sense. Have any suggestions for my post above this one.


Back to top
Strider
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 02, 2015

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:39 am    Post subject: Remote Mining Minister not working maybe? Reply with quote

I created a freighter and regular destroyer ship both with Design type of Remote Miner to gather minerals and he's got the minister turned on for all ships and in the options I have Remote miner minister turned on but my ships just sit there when created waiting for orders.

Is there something else I need to do to get them to work automatically?

My colony ships take off as soon as they are created to colonize worlds.


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a bug in the BM v120 alpha that is preventing remote mining ships from working due to the design name changes. The beta will have this fix.

Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
Strider
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 02, 2015

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:38 pm    Post subject: Mothbolling Minister Reply with quote

I read in the mothbolling minister that it mothbolls ships that haven't been used in so many years of different designs but my newly created Fighter Carrier unit got mothbolled as soon as it was built.

Not a real problem as far as bugs go.

Also, is there any way to change the way Supply ship minister works. I have systems with tons of supplies sitting in them and Supply Depot and yet if I have minister on to resupply or do a general resupply order my ships will get a move order to go all the way back to homeworld. All my explorer ships stopped exploring and went back to homeworld before I thought to check for them. Like 10 turns away.


Back to top
Ernomouse
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 07, 2015

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello world!

First of all, I crashed the whole game trying to place a solar sail within the inner hull slots while designing a new scout frigate...

Also, we're waiting for the 1.20beta for a game between friends. Any news on that front?


Back to top
gurachn
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 03, 2010
Location: Osaka, Japan

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just popped in to see if there are any updates, only to find that the Cap'n is back at the helm, and releasing new versions!

Time to fire up a game and get back into space!


SEV Visual Mods:
Black UI
Reduced Size Shipsets


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will try and get back on track this week. Was able to get a bit more done last week but not enough for a release. Still working out details about how to utilize the info from a new performance analysis scheme I came up for the AI.

Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
Ernomouse
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 07, 2015

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's great! Really looking forward to the next release!

Back to top
RSEV
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 29, 2015

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, always loved the mod and thanks for all the hard work.

Wondering if something has changed with drone warheads, I have tech level 1 in both drones and warheads and I don't see any warheads in the list when I go to create a drone.

Also the tech chart pdf seems to be wrong about torpedo weapons, in the pdf it says they require level 2 military science but in game you have to research military science 3 before they become available.


Back to top
VikThor
Space Emperor


Joined: Feb 27, 2009
Location: Milano - Italy

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not played it yet, but thank you very much for your hard work.

Back to top
Shoe
Space Emperor


Joined: Jan 13, 2009

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the improvements in 1.20!

Some feedback:

-Stellar Harnessing seems stronger than it used to be, my scout ships are running around without ever draining supplies. I'm guessing the biggest factor here is the small systems conversion, with a nod to hull size changes. Perhaps engines need more supply consumption? Solar sails were also balanced researchwise, but IMO not really for Kt. They should go up to 30.

-it seems to me that perhaps weapon platform and satellite mounts could use less accuracy boost. They don't need laser accuracy to be useful. The only thing that makes me hesitant about this is that it maybe just tilts things towards always mounting maximum seekers, which is already really good on those hull types.

-Boarding Party labels are flipped ("220 attackers who can overcome 55 crew members")

-I'm curious about AI threat assessment. I'm pressing a Jraenar empire pretty hard, but one reason i'm doing so well is that it's frittering away 5 ships every few turns attacking through the same warp point defended by a bunch of satellites, some space stations, and defense ships. Basically every time the fleets like 'Okay i have some combat ships and a freighter!' they attack and get trounced.


Person(s) denying the existence of killer robots may be killer robots themselves.


Back to top
Leurdeil
Space Emperor


Joined: Dec 26, 2013

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello. I can't find a tractor/repulser beams. Were they removed from the game?

Back to top
marhawkman
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 24, 2008

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you research that tech?

Back to top
Leurdeil
Space Emperor


Joined: Dec 26, 2013

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

marhawkman wrote:
did you research that tech?


Yes, but it had no effect.
The problem was in formula (in components.txt): Get_Empire_Tech_Level("Tractor \ Repulser Weapons") >= [%Level%]
The valid name of technology is "Tractor\Repulser Weapons" (without spaces).
You can fix it in your local mod files (formula in data\components.txt or tech name in data\techareas.txt) and after that all will be ok.


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the catch on the extra spaces.

---

Quote:
I'm curious about AI threat assessment


A common, but far less so than previous, issue is the game's pathfinding routine pushing ships through dangerous warp points. The AI scripts do check/peek for "danger" when issuing specific warp point orders, in which case they usually get nullified. However, in cases where the destination is somewhere else (that is safe) but the game's pathfinding routes include a dangerous warp point can produce the situation you described.

From a script perspective, I cannot pull information about which warp points might be traversed along a route. I only know the target destination. This is why the problem persists.


Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suppose the only solution, then, would be to implement your own pathfinding algorithm which travels one system at a time?

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
CaptainKwok
Balance Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think that's possible with the script tools on hand.

However, I might be able to implement a partial solution to tag dangerous warp points in non-colony systems as marked minefields which would then prevent ships from being routed through them. I seem to remember the minefield toggle not working from the scripts but I will try again. The idea would be to pull from the combat log the location, check the combat sector for a warp point, check for no colonies in system and then toggle minefield flag for the sector.


Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod


Back to top
Stormcrow
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 29, 2014

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to change the amount of supply used by engines based on the number of engines on the ship? In other words, is there a way to make the per move supply cost constant? I was hoping to fix the absurd exponential increase in consumption.

This unfortunately does not work:
Supply Amount Used Formula := 5 / (Get_Design_Ability_Component_Count("Movement Standard") + Get_Design_Ability_Component_Count("Movement Extra Generation"))


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if you use Get_Design_Ability_Total instead of Get_Design_Ability_Component_Count? Of course then you'd need to take into account engines per move, so you'd probably want a dummy AI tag ability for that... but doesn't BM already have those for the hull report window?

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Stormcrow
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 29, 2014

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The number of engines is the key because the supply per engine is what adds up. I'm not sure what you mean by "dummy AI tag". The value returned in the game as the supply rating for that expression was always 0 regardless of how many engines I added to a design. I don't even know how it didn't cause a division by zero exception.

Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, that's odd; Get_Design_Ability_Component_Count normally works; I actually used it in a very similar formula to yours to prevent stacking of emissive armor on units. Perhaps supply usage formulas don't have access to the same set of functions that ability formulas do?

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> Balance Mod All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB
All logos and trademarks used on this site, all comments and stories posted for reading, all files hosted for download,
and all art work hosted for viewing are property of their respective owners; all the rest copyright 2003-2010 Nolan Kelly.
Syndicate news: SpaceEmpires.net News RSS Feed - Syndicate forums: SpaceEmpires.net Forums RSS Feed
Page Generation: 0.21 Seconds