This site is in archival mode. A replacement is being developed. In the meantime, please use the PBW2 Forums for community discussions. The replacement software for this site will use a unified account system with PBW2, and any newly created threads will carry over.
Welcome to Spaceempires.net
Login or Register

Search
Modules
· Content
· Downloads
· Forums
· Game Info
· Image Gallery
· Links
· Shipyards
· Topics
· Staff

User Info
· Welcome, Anonymous
Membership:
· New: Astorre
· New Today: 0
· New Yesterday: 0
· Overall: 3155

People Online:
· Visitors: 239
· Members: 0
· Total: 239

  

Spaceempires.net :: Planets :: View topic
Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in


Planets
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> FrEee
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cioden
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2008
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:05 pm    Post subject: Planets Reply with quote

Thought I'd make this just to let everyone know I'm still making planets for the game, and to show case a few now and then.









Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoooooaaaaaaaaa... those are some AWESOME planets Very Happy

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes indeedy, although I must say that the first two look better than the third, there's just something about that one that doesn't seem quite right.

Back to top
Cioden
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2008
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Last edited by Cioden on Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:55 pm; edited 1 time in total


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice gas giant! I think the craters on the lower left side of that moon look rather distorted, and the shadows are weird, too... Sad

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Cioden
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2008
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea it's cause the texture is part of a planetary map of Phobos. They tend to get distorted at the edges. There's some other things i'm going to try for cratered planets so i'll see how it goes.

Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How's the new crater texture style coming along?

Back to top
Cioden
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2008
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's that cratered planet after I fiddled around with it some more. I've been busy with the holidays and school, but i'll have more coming.



Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooh, sweet! Very Happy

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is beautiful, absolutely beautiful.

Back to top
Zap
Space Emperor


Joined: Oct 14, 2012

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't wait to send a colony ship there to mine those sweet sweet minerals.

Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I saw a few of your new planets in-game. Very nice Smile

I was a bit puzzled, though, by the hydrogen "ice" planet that was covered in MAGMA... Shocked


That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you be sure it's magma, and not ice (glaciers and all that)?

Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RED ice? Not sure what color ice on a hydrogen world would be, but it looks pretty fiery to me...

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
MattII
Space Emperor


Joined: Aug 16, 2003

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the atmosphere is mostly red (and in this game hydrogen atmospheres are), then surely the colour of the ice would also be mostly red.

Back to top
Cioden
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2008
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I did make a volcanic world I assumed would be carbon dioxide, but I never really specified what each world would be. I should probably start doing that. So I'm guessing it's a bug caused by generation.

Still that's pretty funny. I wouldn't be surprised if science discovered something like that down the road. They did find a hot ice world recently.

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2007/05/070517-hot-planet.html


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, each entry in SectType.txt specifies the type of planet is, along with which picture to use. So really there's two possibilities:

* The picture is being mapped to the wrong SectType.txt entry

* You (or CW) decided what the planet would look like solely based on its appearance in SE4, and not based on what type of planet SectType.txt said it should be.

For reference, the planet is number 144. Judging by SE4's planet #144, I could see how you'd mistake that for a volcanic world. And looking at SectType.txt, planet 144 is a small hydrogen rock planet described as "Small planet with extrusive vulcanism."

So I guess you guys are right... maybe?

As it turns out, planet #143 in SectType.txt is a small hydrogen *ice* planet, perhaps the one I was seeing. Maybe I was adding or subtracting 1 somewhere in the planet numbers, or failing to do so when I needed to? SE4's first planet is number 1, but there is one planet in SectType.txt with picture number 0! Shocked I must have assumed that the picture numbers in SectType.txt were off by one, because if we ever encountered a planet with image zero in-game in SE4, the game would crash or display a blank image, and I've never seen that occur in stock! So if I change the code to not add 1 to the planet numbers in SectType.txt, that leaves the mystery planet with image zero. Does anyone have any idea how SE4 handles this?

edit: Apparently they ARE off by one. In SectType.txt, ringworlds are 300, while sphereworlds are 301. However, in the Pictures folder, ringworlds are 301, while sphereworlds are 302. Shocked

I wonder why I never noticed this before? I guess we need to rename these planets? Alternatively, we can give them the "proper" names from SectType.txt to avoid confusing modders, and only use the broken ones if they're BMPs... Actually I ought to check on that and see if I'm doing that already; maybe that's what's throwing you off? Have to see what the description of the planet I encountered was...

OK, it looks like I'm ALWAYS adding one to the Picture Num value from SectType.txt, like SE4 does. So it may have been your mistake after all - you may have forgotten to do so when creating the images. The question stands, though - should we fix this bug in SE4, for the PNG files at least? Or would that cause more confusion for modders than it would cure?


That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Last edited by ekolis on Mon Jan 20, 2014 9:07 pm; edited 4 times in total


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, also, one more thing with the planets. Some of them fill up the frame, while others are slightly "shrunken". It would be nice if they were more consistent. Or was it intentional that there would be variations in size within, say, large planets?

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Cioden
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2008
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well truth be told I just make the planets up as I go along I never really thought about going by the numbers in sectype.txt Razz Then I send them off to CW numbered as I make them.

As for filling up the frame, what do you mean? In the game? Cause if so I have not seen them in game yet, only in gimp, and I make them all at 720x720


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm saying, if the planet image is 512x512 or whatever, some of the planets fill up that entire space, but others have gaps around the edges.

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Combat_Wombat
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ball is in my court for both of these issues ed. When I convert the images to .png I can re-size the canvas and I am the one that tries to give each planet a name to what looks like the equivalent in se4. All of ciodens planets have been the same size the ones you are seeing that are bigger are ones that I made. The reason they are not uniform is I am not sure how they should look yet. Like do I want a planet edge-to-edge in its sector?

Co-Lead of the FrEee project an open-source Space Empires IV clone

Author of Invasion! for Space Empires IV


Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good question. I think it would look silly to have the planets fill their entire sector, at least if there were planets in neighboring sectors. However I don't think we should require artists to size their planets "just right" when we can easily make FrEee do that work for them, and let the artists draw the planets to fill the frame.

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
Cioden
Space Emperor


Joined: Apr 23, 2008
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Back to top
ekolis
Virtual Guru


Joined: Aug 04, 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooh, nice! Smile Though I don't think it will be noticeable except at full resolution, so it's not really a big deal, but the clouds and oceans seem a bit "flat" - the land has some nice texturing, and it's a shame there's none on the clouds and oceans!

That's no space station - it's a spreadsheet!


Back to top
letsdance
Space Emperor


Joined: Mar 03, 2012

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome pictures =)

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spaceempires.net Forum Index -> FrEee All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB
All logos and trademarks used on this site, all comments and stories posted for reading, all files hosted for download,
and all art work hosted for viewing are property of their respective owners; all the rest copyright 2003-2010 Nolan Kelly.
Syndicate news: SpaceEmpires.net News RSS Feed - Syndicate forums: SpaceEmpires.net Forums RSS Feed
Page Generation: 0.32 Seconds